A closing password in QuickBooks is important to control any changes or modifications to the file after the books have been closed or if the bank accounts have already been reconciled. Only the Admin can do this function. Once there is a closing password, the other users can’t make any modification to the file without informing the Admin. To do this, click the Edit Menu > Choose Preferences > Go to Accounting then Company Preferences > Click Set Date / Password at the bottom of the window > Enter the closing date and your preferred password.
